RSS

Paleo-fied chocolate cake

12 Dec

Eat me!

I was having fun experimenting in the kitchen and felt like brownies. I came up with this recipe, but it didn’t taste like brownies. It tasted like cake. So cake it became. But it’s good cake! And being that I love to bake and my kids love to eat, it was a good combo. And at least I can feel good knowing they’re not gonna have a sugar crash afterwards.

Recipe: Paleo-fied chocolate cake

1 cup almond flour

1 cup cocoa powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup coconut oil, melted + a tablespoon or so for greasing pan

4 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

3/4 cup honey

Preheat oven to 325 degrees and grease a glass pan with coconut oil (I used an 11×7 pan, but you could use 9×13 for thinner cake or 9×9 for a thicker cake). Combine dry ingredients in medium bowl and set aside. Whisk eggs, melted coconut oil, vanilla and honey together and pour into dry ingredients. Stir until combined and pour into greased pan. Cook for about 25-30 minutes, depending on how thick your cake is going to be.

*Note: You could do a lot with this recipe: add in some dairy/soy free chocolate chips, add in some almond butter, stir in a bit of peppermint extract or just leave them be. They’re delicious!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on December 12, 2011 in Dessert

 

Tags:

9 responses to “Paleo-fied chocolate cake

  1. Simply Living Healthy

    December 12, 2011 at 9:39 am

    Looks awesome! Thanks for sharing.

     
  2. radlandon

    December 12, 2011 at 10:52 am

    Thanks! Just checked out your site–love it!

     
  3. Stephanie

    December 30, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    Found your website through Fast Paleo! I just made this cake and it is absolutely amazing 🙂 Thank you! I’ll never have “flour and sugar” cake again!

     
  4. CO Mama

    February 24, 2012 at 3:03 pm

    OMG, YUMMM! I just made this & it is AH-mazing! Thanks for sharing!

    Honey is at a premium in out house so I could only spare 1/2c + 4 drops vanilla cream stevia & it seemed to do the trick.

     
  5. Khat

    April 19, 2012 at 12:28 am

    So I just made this cake and I had an unexpected problem! I combined the dry ingredients with the wet ingredients and the batter was absolutely  stiff and looked like flakey cake that was already backed! It was impossible to pour the batter into the backing dish bc of the thick flakey texture!  Don’t get me wrong, when I tasted the batter it was absolutely delicious but no chance  to bake it in that condition!  I added almond milk and that made it smother and thinner an backed it that way! It still came out great but could you please let me know what could have went wrong during the process l! I followed your exact recipe with the only change of adding almond butter to the wet mixture! 

     
    • radlandon

      April 22, 2012 at 3:36 pm

      Hi, Khat! Hmmm…not sure what the problem was? I have never had that issue and I’ve made the cake a bunch of times. ?? Maybe adding in the almond butter changed it? I’m so sorry I can’t be more help!

       
  6. Amber

    April 10, 2013 at 4:32 am

    Do you think I could substitute coconut flour for almond flour ?

     
    • radlandon

      April 10, 2013 at 5:13 am

      Hi, Amber! I would not suggest subbing coconut for almond flour. It is a completely different flour and doesn’t work the same. You could try lessening the flour and upping the eggs, but I have not experimented with that. Sorry I can’t be of more help! Please check out my new page over at: cleaneatsinthezoo.com. It is updated regularly with new recipes!

       

Leave a Reply

 
